Happy Birthday Ocean County

Happy 173rd Birthday Ocean County!
Ocean County was established on February 15, 1850. Ocean County originally consisted of six townships – Brick, Dover, Jackson, Plumsted, Stafford and Union (now Barnegat). Dover (now Toms River) was designated as the county seat and construction began on the Ocean County Court House in 1850!

Courtesy OCPO


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s